(North Bay, August 19, 2019)   Four people have been appointed for a five-year term to the North Bay-Mattawa Source Protection Committee (SPC), a local multi-stakeholder committee responsible for reducing risks to local municipal drinking water sources in Callander, Mattawa, North Bay, Powassan, and South River.  

The SPC is guiding the updating and amendment of the Source Protection Plan and Assessment Report, as well as the implementation of existing plan policies. The SPC considers public input, reviews technical studies, ensures input from local municipalities, and provides advice on source protection plan requirements and works in cooperation with the Source Protection Authority.

Maurice Schlosser (economic sector – agriculture), George Stivrins (economic sector – industrial/commercial) and Lucy Emmott (member-at-large) were reappointed.  Andrea Labelle is a new appointment to the SPC, as a member-at-large replacing Roy Warriner who recently retired after 12 years on the SPC.

“The Source Protection Committee has the benefit of a fresh perspective from our new member Andrea and the knowledge and experience of Maurice, George and Lucy who are returning as we move forward with our review of the Source Protection Plan,” said Jeff Celentano, SPC Chair. 

“In particular I’d like to thank Roy Warriner who has retired from the SPC. Roy joined the Committee when it was formed in 2007.  Roy’s calm, reasoned approach and appreciation for the perspective of rural and urban stakeholders in the development of the source protection plan were greatly valued and appreciated,” he added.

Membership on the SPC is evenly allocated between municipal, economic and general public sectors. There is an additional seat on the 10-member committee for a Nipissing First Nations representative. Members are asked to make a five-year commitment to serve on the SPC.

Other SPC members include, Beverley Hillier, Hector Lavigne, Randy McLaren, Peter Murray, and John MacLachlan.  Jeff Celentano is currently chair, appointed by the Minister of Environment, Conservation and Parks.  The Nipissing First Nations position on the committee is vacant.

To view profiles on the source protection committee members, visit http://www.actforcleanwater.ca/source-protection-committee/source-protection-committee-members/

The North Bay-Mattawa Conservation Authority administers the source protection program in the region under the Clean Water Act with funding from the Ontario Ministry of Environment, Conservation and Parks.

You can follow NBMCA on facebook.com/NBMCA and twitter @theNBMCA.   Website: www.actoforcleanwater.ca and www.nbmca.ca.


For information contact:

David Ellingwood, DWSP Program Supervisor (705) 474-5420 ext 2018

Sue Buckle, Manager, Communications and Outreach  (705) 474-5420  ext 2010