The North Bay-Mattawa Source Protection Authority is an oversight body for the local Drinking Water Source Protection process.

The North Bay-Mattawa Source Protection Authority (SPA) coordinated the development of the Source Protection Plan (SP Plan) to protect the sources of five municipal drinking water systems in our watershed:  Callander, Mattawa, North Bay, Powassan and South River. 

The SPA is comprised of elected representatives from each of the member municipalities, including those from the Conservation Authority Members (Board of Directors) and some from municipalities that are only within the Source Protection Area. The SPA is tasked with selecting or approving members to sit on the Source Protection Committee, and reviewing and receiving comments on updates to the Assessment Report and Source Protection Plan.

The 2023 Source Protection Authority Members include:

  • Dave Britton - Powassan (2023 Chair)
  • Shelley Belanger – Papineau-Cameron Twp (2023 Vice-Chair)
  • Peter Chirico - North Bay
  • Teri Brandt - South River
  • Steve Trahan - East Ferris
  • Bill Moreton - Calvin Twp
  • Michelle Lahaye - Mattawan Twp
  • Steve Featherstone - Bonfield
  • Steve Kirkey - Nipissing
  • Lana Mitchell - North Bay
  • Loren Mick - Mattawa
  • Irene Smit - Callander
  • Nunzio Scarfone - Chisholm Twp
  • Jim Ronholm - Strong Twp
  • Chris Mayne - North Bay

The last Source Protection Committee Meeting was Wednesday, August 16, 2023 at 4:30 pm at the NBMCA office.   Agenda

The next meeting will be held at the call of the Chair.

For more information on the Drinking Water Source Protection program visit or the Drinking Water Source Protection Program section of the website. 

The next meeting of the Source Protection Authority to be determined.

Meeting Agenda and minutes of previous SPA Meetings.