(North Bay, February 25, 2021)  The North Bay-Mattawa Conservation Authority (NBMCA) Board of Directors re-elected North Bay Councillor Dave Mendicino as its Chair at its Annual General Meeting Wednesday.

Powassan Councillor Dave Britton was re-elected Vice Chair.

“It is a busy year ahead for the CA.  Adapting to the constraints posed by the pandemic is ongoing as we continue to deliver our services to municipalities, property owners and other stakeholders.  The impact that the changes to the Conservation Authorities Act will have on our role as watershed managers will unfold in the year ahead,  and we’ll be preparing for and dealing with what’s to come,” said Mendicino.

The Board also elected Councillors Shelley Belanger of Papineau-Cameron Township, Michelle Lahaye of Mattawan Township, Chris Mayne of North Bay, Nunzio Scarfone of Chisholm Township,  to the Board’s Executive Committee.   Chair Mendicino and Vice Chair Britton are automatic appointees to the Executive Committee.

The Source Protection Authority (SPA) Board of Directors also held its AGM Wednesday, re-electing Dave Mendicino as Chair and Dave Britton as Vice Chair.   The SPA oversees the Drinking Water Source Protection Program for the North Bay-Mattawa Source Protection Area.

The North Bay-Mattawa Conservation Authority (NBMCA) was founded in 1972 by the Province of Ontario and the NBMCA’s 10 member municipalities. A non-profit organization, the NBMCA works closely with the public to balance human needs with the environmental needs of the region’s watershed. The NBMCA is one of 36 Conservation Authorities who are members of Conservation Ontario.