(North Bay, January 30, 2020) The North Bay-Mattawa Conservation Authority (NBMCA) Board of Directors elected North Bay Councillor Dave Mendicino as its new Chair at its Annual General Meeting Wednesday.

Powassan Councillor Dave Britton was elected Vice Chair.

The Board also elected Councillors Shelley Belanger of Papineau-Cameron Township, Dean Grant of Calvin Township, Loren Mick of Mattawa and Michelle Lahaye of Mattawan Township to the Board’s Executive Committee. Chair Mendicino and Vice Chair Britton are automatic appointees to the Executive Committee.

Staff were directed by the Board to proceed with issuing a request for proposals for audit services. Peter Leckie was reappointed solicitor for NBMCA.

The Source Protection Authority (SPA) Board of Directors also held its AGM Wednesday, electing Dave Mendicino as Chair and Dave Britton as Vice Chair. The SPA oversees the Drinking Water Source Protection Program for the North Bay-Mattawa Source Protection Area.

The North Bay-Mattawa Conservation Authority (NBMCA) was founded in 1972 by the Province of Ontario and the NBMCA’s 10 member municipalities. A non-profit organization, the NBMCA works closely with the public to balance human needs with the environmental needs of the region’s watershed. The NBMCA is one of 36 Conservation Authorities who are members of Conservation Ontario.