(North Bay, February 1, 2023) The North Bay-Mattawa Conservation Authority (NBMCA) Board Members re-elected Powassan Councillor Dave Britton as Chair at its Annual General Meeting Jan 25.  Papineau Cameron Twp’s Shelley Belanger was elected Vice Chair.

“NBMCA has a full year ahead dealing with the changes in the Conservation Authorities Act and Bill 23.  We have a great Board and I’m looking forward to working with the new members as well as the returning members. There’s lots of work to do but I’m confident that together with staff and our community partners we’ll accomplish much in the coming year,” said Chair Britton.

“NBMCA staff continue our strong role in natural hazards management, source water protection and other watershed-based programs. We are also excited to begin working on a new strategic plan this year,” added CAO Chitra Gowda.

The Members also elected Chris Mayne and Lana Mitchell of North Bay, Michelle Lahaye of Mattawan Twp. and Irene Smit of Callander to the Executive Committee.  Chair Britton and Vice Chair Belanger are automatic appointees to the Executive Committee.  The Executive serves as the Finance and Administration Advisory Board with responsibility for deliberating and making recommendations to the Board on the annual budget or administrative matters.

The NBMCA Board members are appointed by NBMCA’s 10 member municipalities.  Returning members include Britton and Belanger as well as, Chris Mayne (North Bay), Nunzio Scarfone (Chisholm Twp) and Irene Smit (Callander).  New members include Peter Chirico and Lana Mitchell (North Bay), Bill Moreton (Calvin Twp), Steve Trahan (East Ferris), Laura Ross (Mattawa), and Steve Featherstone (Bonfield).  More information regarding NBMCA governance, including meeting agendas and minutes, are posted on the website:  http://www.nbmca.ca/governance/governance-overview/

The Source Protection Authority (SPA) Board of Directors also held its AGM Wednesday, electing Britton as Chair and Belanger as Vice Chair.   The SPA oversees the Drinking Water Source Protection Program for the North Bay-Mattawa Source Protection Area. SPA members include representatives of municipalities located within the Source Protection Area.   In addition to the NBMCA Board members, the SPA includes Teri Brandt (South River), Steve Kirkey (Nipissing Twp) and Jim Ronholm (Strong Twp).  More information regarding the Source Protection Authority can be found online at http://www.nbmca.ca/about-us/members-spa/

The North Bay-Mattawa Conservation Authority (NBMCA) was founded in 1972 by the Province of Ontario and the NBMCA’s 10 member municipalities. A non-profit organization, the NBMCA works closely with the public to balance human needs with the environmental needs of the region’s watershed. The NBMCA is one of 36 Conservation Authorities who are members of Conservation Ontario.


For more information, contact: 

Chitra Gowda, CAO                                                                (705) 474-5420
Sue Buckle, Manager, Communications & Outreach               (705) 497-4999 (cell)