



NORTH BAY-MATTAWA SOURCE PROTECTION AUTHORITY MINUTES of the

FIRST meeting of the North Bay-Mattawa Source Protection Authority was called to order at 5:04 p.m. on January 15, 2025 in the NBMCA's Natural Classroom, 15 Janey Avenue, North Bay Ontario.

MEMBERS PRESENT:

Callander, Municipality of **Grant McMartin** Chisholm, Township of Nunzio Scarfone Calvin, Township of Bill Moreton East Ferris, Municipality of Steve Trahan Mattawan, Municipality of Michelle Lahaye Nipissing, Township of Steve Kirkey North Bay, City of Lana Mitchell North Bay, City of Peter Chirico North Bay, City of Chris Mayne Papineau –Cameron, Township of **Shelley Belanger** Powassan, Municipality of Dave Britton South River, Village of Teri Brandt Strong, Township Jim Ronholm

MEMBER(S) ABSENT:

Bonfield, Township of - Steve Featherstone
Mattawa, Town of - Loren Mick

ALSO PRESENT:

Robin Allen, Interim CAO, Secretary-Treasurer
Rebecca Morrow, Human Resources Coordinator/Executive Assistant/Deputy CAO
Aaron Lougheed, Manager, Finance
Angela Mills, Water Resources Specialist
Ella Bird, Deputy Chief Building Official, On-Site Sewage Systems

1. Acknowledgement of Indigenous Traditional and Treaty Lands

Michelle Lahay read the Acknowledgement of Indigenous Traditional and Treaty Lands.

2. Approval of the Agenda

After discussion the following resolution was presented:

Resolution No. SPA01-25, Kirkey-Trahan

THAT the agenda be approved as presented.

Carried Unanimously

3. Delegations

No delegations

4. Declaration of Pecuniary Interest

None declared.

5. Appointment of the CAO, Secretary Treasurer as Chair

After Discussion, the following resolutions were presented:

Resolution No. SPA02-25, Brandt-Lahaye

THAT the Interim Chief Administrative Officer be appointed as Chair for the purpose of conducting the election of Source Protection Authority Chair and Vice Chair.

Carried Unanimously

6. Election of Officers

The Acting Chair reviewed the election procedures with the members. After discussion, the members were invited to proceed with a call for nominations for the position of Chair.

Dave Britton nominated Michelle Lahaye

After a second and third call for nominations with no response the acting Chair asked Michelle if she was willing to accept the nomination. Michelle accepted, and the following resolution was presented:

Resolution No. SPA03-25, Mitchell-McMartin

THAT nominations for the position of Chair are closed.

Carried Unanimously

The Acting Chair then called for nominations for the position of Vice Chair.

Shelley Belanger nominated Lana Mitchell

After a second and third call for nominations with no response the acting Chair asked Lana if she was willing to accept the nomination. Lana accepted and, the following resolution was presented:

Resolution No. SPA04-25, Mayne-Moreton

THAT nominations for the position of Vice-Chair are closed.

Carried Unanimously

7. Adoption of Previous Minutes of December 16, 2024

After discussion the following resolution was presented:

Resolution No. SPA05-24, Kirkey-Brandt

THAT the minutes of the meeting held December 16, 2024 are adopted as written.

Carried Unanimously

8. Interim CAO's Report

Robin Allen updated members on the Section 36 updates and provided a program update. After discussion the members thanked Robin for her update and the following resolutions were presented:

Resolution No. SPA06-25, Belanger-Moreton

THAT the section 36 updates be submitted to MECP after the 35-day municipal consultation period is complete.

Carried Unanimously

Resolution No. SPA07-25, Brandt-Ronholm

THAT Kevin Taylor be removed from the selection committee for the Source Protection Committee, and that Angela Mills be added to the selection Committee for the purpose of conducting interviews and making recommendations for nine (9) individuals to be appointed to the Source Protection Committee.

Carried Unanimously

9.	New Business
None.	
10.	Adjournment (5:14 p.m.)
As the	re was no new business, the following resolution was presented:
Resolu	tion No. SPA08-25, Moreton-Kirkey
THAT	the meeting is adjourned, and the next meeting be held at the call of the Chair.
Carrie	d Unanimously
Miche	Robin Allen, Interim Chief Administrative Officer Secretary Treasurer