



NORTH BAY-MATTAWA SOURCE PROTECTION AUTHORITY MINUTES of the

THIRD meeting of the North Bay-Mattawa Source Protection Authority was called to order at 4:00 p.m. on June 11, 2025 in the NBMCA's Marc Charron Boardroom, 15 Janey Avenue, North Bay Ontario.

MEMBERS PRESENT:

Bonfield, Township of - Steve Featherstone
Callander, Municipality of - Grant McMartin
Chisholm, Township of - Nunzio Scarfone
Calvin, Township of - Bill Moreton

East Ferris, Municipality of Lauren Rooyakkers Mattawan, Municipality of Michelle Lahaye Nipissing, Township of Steve Kirkey North Bay, City of Lana Mitchell North Bay, City of Peter Chirico Papineau –Cameron, Township of **Shelley Belanger** Powassan, Municipality of **Dave Britton** South River, Village of Teri Brandt

MEMBER(S) ABSENT:

Mattawan, Municipality of - Michelle Lahaye
Mattawa, Town of - Loren Mick
North Bay, City of - Chris Mayne
Strong, Township - Jim Ronholm

ALSO PRESENT:

Carolyn Rodgers, P.Eng, Chief Administrative Officer, Secretary-Treasurer Aaron Lougheed, Manager, Finance Angela Mills, Water Resources Specialist (Project Manager, DWSP)

1. Acknowledgement of Indigenous Traditional and Treaty Lands

The meeting was called to order at 4:00 pm, and afterwards Dave Britton read a statement acknowledging Indigenous and Treaty Lands.

2. Approval of the Agenda

The following resolution was presented:

Resolution No. SPA16-25, Belanger-Moreton

THAT the agenda be approved as presented.

Carried Unanimously

3. Adoption of Previous Minutes of April 9, 2025

Resolution No. SPA17-25, Kirkey-Brandt

THAT the Minutes from the April 9, 2025, meeting be approved.

Carried Unanimously

4. Delegations

No delegations

5 Declaration of Pecuniary Interest

None declared.

6. Source Protection Committee Recruitment

Angela Mills presented the report, and the following resolution was presented:

Resolution No. SPA18-25, Moreton-Scarfone

THAT the recommended new and returning candidates put forth by the Selection Committee be endorsed; and further

THAT members' terms be staggered to come due for renewal in three (3), four (4), and five (5) years, split across membership types for this renewal period with the intent to return to all five (5) year memberships upon future renewal.

THAT, pursuant to section 9 and other requirements of O.Reg. 284/07, the North Bay-Mattawa Source Protection Authority hereby appoints the following persons to represent the listed group on the North Bay-Mattawa Source Protection Committee for the following durations:

- Bev Hillier (Municipal representative), Maurice Schlosser (Economic representative) and Andrea Labelle (Member-at-Large) be endorsed for five years, ending June 11, 2030;
- Tim McKenna (Municipal representative), Peter Murray (Economic representative) and Simon Foster (Member-at-Large) be endorsed for four years, ending June 11, 2029; and
- Sheldon Crawford (Economic representative) and Liza Vandermeer (Member atlarge) be endorsed for three years, ending June 11, 2028.

THAT staff are directed to publish a notice on the internet of these appointments,

And further,

THAT staff are directed to work with municipalities to have a third Municipal representative endorsed to join the SPC.

Carried Unanimously

7. New Business

Angela Mills provided members with the update below on April 2nd S.36 Submission to MECP:

- MECP requested additional mapping layers, and they have been provided.
- MECP requested copies of the consultation letters, and they have been provided.
- MECP has requested dates for municipal council presentations and previous SPA/SPC minutes but have not been located by current staff and cannot be provided.
- MECP is currently reviewing the submitted material and will provide comments to be addressed. It is anticipated that MECP will identify that the Nipissing First Nation was not consulted.

After discussion, members thanked Ms. Mills for her update.

8. Adjournment

Carried Unanimously

Resolution No. SPA19-25, Chirico-Kirkey

THAT the meeting is adjourned at 4:30pm, and the next meeting be held at the call of the Chair.

 Lana Mitchell, Vice Chair	Carolyn Rodgers, Chief Administrative Officer,	
	Secretary Treasurer	