



North Bay-Mattawa Source Protection Authority Members Meeting for January 25, 2023 at 4:30 pm IN PERSON, OR immediately after the NBMCA Members meeting NBMCA's Natural Classroom, 15 Janey Avenue, North Bay, Ontario

AGENDA

Procedural Matters

- 1. Acknowledgement of Indigenous Traditional and Treaty Lands
- 2. Welcome
- 3. Approval of the Agenda
- 4. Delegation(s)
- 5. Declaration of Pecuniary Interest
- 6. Appointment of CAO, Secretary Treasurer as Chair
- 7. Election of Officers:
 - Chair of the Board
 - Vice Chair of the Board
- 8. Adoption of Previous Minutes of August 17, 2022

Presentation

9. Project Manager's Presentations

Other Business

- 10. New Business
- 11. Adjournment

NORTH BAY-MATTAWA SOURCE PROTECTION AUTHORITY MINUTES of the

FIRST meeting of the North Bay-Mattawa Source Protection Authority was called to order at 4:48 p.m. on January 25, 2023 in the NBMCA's Natural Classroom, 15 Janey Avenue, North Bay Ontario.

MEMBERS PRESENT:

Callander, Municipality of Irene Smit Calvin, Township of **Bill Moreton** Mattawan, Municipality of Michelle Lahaye Nipissing, Township Steve Kirkey North Bay, City of **Peter Chirico** North Bay, City of Chris Mayne North Bay, City of Lana Mitchell Papineau – Cameron, Township of -**Shelley Belanger** Powassan, Municipality of **Dave Britton** South River, Village of Teri Brandt Strong, Township Jim Ronholm

MEMBER(S) ABSENT:

Bonfield, Township of - Steve Featherstone
Chisholm, Township of - Nunzio Scarfone
East Ferris, Municipality of - Steve Trahan
Mattawa, Town of - Laura Ross

ALSO PRESENT:

Chitra Gowda, CAO, Secretary-Treasurer

David Ellingwood, Manager, Source Water Protection

Ella Bird, Sr. Inspector, On-Site Sewage Systems

Paula Scott, Director, Planning & Development/Deputy CAO

Robin Allen, Manager, On-Site Sewage Systems

Rebecca Morrow, Administrative Assistant

Sue Buckle, Manager, Communications and Outreach

Troy Storms, Manager, Lands & Stewardship

1. Acknowledgement of Indigenous Traditional and Treaty Lands

Chitra Gowda read a statement acknowledging Indigenous and Treaty Lands.

2. Welcome

The Chair welcomed everyone in attendance.

3. Approval of the Agenda

After discussion the following resolution was presented:

Resolution No. SPA01-23, Smit-Lahaye

THAT the agenda be approved as presented.

Carried Unanimously

4. Delegations

No delegations

5. Declaration of Pecuniary Interest

None declared.

6. Appointment of the CAO, Secretary Treasurer as Chair

After Discussion, the following resolutions were presented:

Resolution No. SPA02-23, Chirico-Moreton

THAT the Chief Administrative Officer be appointed as Chair for the purpose of conducting the election of Conservation Authority Officers and Executive Committee.

Carried Unanimously

Resolution No. SPA03-23, Moreton-Belanger

THAT Rebecca Morrow and Paula Scott be appointed as scrutineers for the election of Officers.

Carried Unanimously

7. Election of Officers

The Acting Chair reviewed the election procedures with the members. After discussion, the

members were invited to proceed with a call for nominations for the position of Chair.

Chris Mayne nominated Dave Britton.

After a second and third call for nominations with no response the acting Chair asked the Dave Britton if he was willing to accept the nomination. Dave accepted, and the following resolution was presented:

Resolution No. SPA04-23, Chirico-Moreton

THAT nominations for the position of Chair are closed.

Carried Unanimously

The Acting Chair then called for nominations for the positon of Vice Chair.

Bill Moreton nominated Shelley Belanger.

After a second and third call for nominations with no response the acting Chair asked Shelley if she was willing to accept the nomination. Shelley accepted and, the following resolution was presented:

Resolution No. SPA05-23, Chirico-Moreton

THAT nominations for the position of Vice-Chair are closed.

Carried Unanimously

8. Adoption of Previous Minutes of August 17, 2022

After discussion the following resolution was presented:

Resolution No. SPA06-23, Smit-Mayne

THAT the minutes of the meeting held August 17, 2022 are adopted as written.

Carried Unanimously

9. Project Manager's Presentation

David Ellingwood presented his update to members and highlighted the comprehensive Section 36 updates, Municipal Consultation and next steps. After discussion, questions and answers on the presentation and on per-fluoro-octane sulfonate (PFOS), members thanked David for his presentation.

10. New Business

None.

11. Adjournment (5:18 p.m.)

As there was no new business, the following resolution was presented:

Resolution No. SPA07-23, Smit-Brandt

THAT the meeting is adjourned, and the next meeting be held on Wednesday April 26, 2023 immediately after the NBMCA Board of Directors meeting (scheduled for 4:00pm) or at the call of the Chair.

Carried Unanimously

Dave Britton, Chair

Chitra Gowda, Chief Administrative Officer, Secretary Treasurer

Phitra Louda.